Home > Uncategorized > Giving thanks.

Giving thanks.

February 1, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

As a couple hailing from two different states (who knew Wisconsin and Virginia were so blasted far apart?), Joel and I have put some serious miles on the ol’ Jeep the past almost-two-years of Michigan life.  A tradition we’ve started is alternating families for Christmas and Thanksgiving.  That being said, this year was the Wisconsin family Thanksgiving  (Joel’s home state).  The setting is a combination between his original homestead on ten wooded acres in Eau Claire, WI (owned now by  his brother and sister-in-law) and his parents’ newly constructed lake home in Birchwood, WI.  Below are a few snippets from our “have-camera-will-travel” selves.  Disclaimer: I am still working on getting a well-rounded sampling of characters and places.  If anyone gets left out, don’t fret! you’ll get camera-in-da-face and see your mug online soon!

I call these the “memory pines.”  It was this spot in the enchanted forest that  Joel got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife…

Joel’s brother, John, on the land.

Quality time late into the night with a game of chess…

In both of our families, music is never an uncommon backdrop.

The new lake home and the blue, blue sky.

The new home is full of windows and heavenly light!

I am Ruppy.  My fro is big, but not as big as my personality.

John & Melissa

A man, a wife, and their barn…

Who can spot the bond here?

Or here?


I have a mullet.  I can spring into the air twice my height.  It is only a matter of time till my wiggles win your heart.  I am Ruppy.

The wooden cross that John built–and around which they build their lives.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

